Posted by: greatfallsgirl | October 17, 2012

There’s No Place Like Home

Well, after writing about home and thinking about it, I made the move.  One month ago I rounded Gore Hill.  They say you can never go back home again, but I don’t think you can say that about Great Falls.  It’s the community.  I felt like I was home the first day I was here.

Last week we had breakfast in a little cafe on Central Avenue West, and started talking to this older gentleman sitting at the table next to us.  Turned out he also left Great Falls decades ago, and had just returned several months back.  It made me smile.

I will continue with posts about growing up in Great Falls, so stay tuned…

Responses

  1. YAY!!!!

  2. Welcome back home. I left and was gone for 20 years and finally came back home. I’ll never leave again.
    Like John Stienback said:
    I’m in Love with Montana.
    For other states I have admiration, respect, recognition, even some affection,
    but with Montana, it is Love♥

    • Thanks…and well said!

  3. You’re back home? For good? That is so cool! And was the little cafe the Double-Barrel, formerly known as the Hill-Top Cafe?

    • Yes, back home for good (I hope)! And yes, I think the Double Barrel was the Hill-Top Cafe…

  4. Glad you made it. Look forward to more posts. I’ll be retiring in something under 10 years and plan my own return then.

  5. Left GF in 2001 and still think it’s the best town in MT. I really dig your posts. Grew up there, went to school at St. Mary’s and then Largent when St. Mary’s closed and then Paris Gibson Jr. High, and graduated from GFHS. Some other great places to eat from my younger days are Howard’s and EL Comedor. Worth the drive back just to eat at those places. Glad I found this site. Good work.

  6. I grew up in Great Falls but left when I was in my late 20’s to work in Seattle. Always go to Howard’s Pizza when we visit and Taco Treat
    across from Paris Gibson Jr High. Used to go to the El Commodore for tacos. It was owned by the weather guy on one of the TV stations. Art somebody. They used to tease him because he couldn’t pronounce humidity. I remember driving up to the smelter at Christmas to look at the lights. My dad was a carpenter for ACM and built the little chapel that you could see from the road.
    This blog brought back some fond memories.

    • I left GF in 79 and despite many moves have not found a place nearly as great. Hunting fishing (always great below the dam) camping great. Met my wife of 33 years at the red barn. Tacos at the el commodore and enchiladas at taco treat. The great Misouri Riverrace was a great party. And the people could not be better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

