Posted by: greatfallsgirl | June 15, 2011

The Gargoyles on Central Avenue

First National Bank

Yes, gargoyles.  On the old First National Bank Building (southeast corner of 3rd Street and Central Avenue), gargoyles circled the top of the building, looking down onto those below.  When they tore down the old bank building in the late 1960’s, I remember my dad talking about wanting to get one of the gargoyles, as they were being offered for sale.  I laughed, thinking about a gargoyle guarding our front yard in Riverview.  I couldn’t find any pictures of the gargoyles, but I found a few postcard pictures of the old First National Bank building.  One can barely make out the white “bumps” at the top of the building on the upper picture were the gargoyles.

Looking down 3rd Street to FNB, 1915

Responses

  1. I lived in Great Falls in the 1960’s, and use to walk past the FNB every morning on my way home from work (short order cook).

  2. I remember a bank building that was being torn down on Central Ave. when I was about 10 years old. My dad wrote to the editor of the paper for me to see if I could have a lion’s head that was at each corner of the building top but the bank president returned a reply and said they would sell them for $15.00 each. That was a lot of money back then..money that we didn’t have. I hope some people were able to save them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

