Posted by: greatfallsgirl | December 17, 2009

The Christmas Lights on Smelter Hill

Traffic was always busy, if you can image that, going up Smelter Avenue in Black Eagle during the evenings this time of year.  Way back in the ’60’s, and some of the 70’s too.  I am not sure when the tradition started, but every year all of the many pine trees in the Anaconda company housing area were lit up with red and green lights for the Christmas season.  It was an incredible sight among all the small, snow covered company houses.  Beautiful to see while driving down River Road.  I don’t think I’ve seen a better display of Christmas lights ever anywhere.  In all of its simplicity, it was spectacular.  It was sad to see it end, but as things constantly change, it is nice to remember one tradition that made Great Falls all that much better.

Merry Christmas!

Responses

  1. I grew up on “the hill” and it was truly wonderful – we had a big tree with lights right in our yard next to my bedroom window! I was looking for pictures online and your blog came up. Thanks and happy new year!

  2. I absolutely loved the reflection of the Christmas lights off the river. This was definitely one of the most awesome sights to begin the excitement of Christmas.

  3. What a great pic. Wish it was in high res.

  4. My Uncle Jack picked us up and would drive us through the lights! I loved seeing the little church ! It was magical to me as a little kid! Miss those simple pleasures!

  5. My dad was a carpenter for ACM, He built the little church. Very magical
    indeed. I still hang just green and red on the trees in front of our house.

  6. Does anyone remember the grotto?

    • Yes, I do. having moved away from GF many years ago, it is still one of my fondest memories. my family loved driving through every year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

