Posted by: greatfallsgirl | October 22, 2009

Gibson Park Flower Gardens

Since I was a little girl, I always have loved the flower gardens in Gibson Park.   I would traverse the paths that wound through the colorful beds and be amazed at how they could have so many beautiful flowers together there.  In various places I have lived I tried to copy the concept, albeit on a much smaller scale.

I found a couple pictures of the gardens on Photobucket taken the past summer by “liloval”:

flowers gib a

flowers gib

Gibson Flower Gardens

  • Located off Park Drive between Central Avenue & 4th Street
  • Beautiful rock archway and wall at the south end of the flower garden
  • Each year offers a new and colorful arrangement of flowers
  • Paved brick walkway throughout the garden
  • Beautiful setting for an outdoor wedding
  • Rental fee for weddings: $75 for 2 hours and $25 for each additional hour

gibsonflowers

Responses

  1. Do they still do fireworks on Hill 57? I miss summer lightning storms, Shakespeare in Gibson park, ice skating at Gibson pond…!

  2. As a small child, I always imagined that I would one day be married under that arbor! 🙂

  3. Great photos that bring back wonderful childhood memories! I’m looking for a print by Jean Halvorson …skating at Gibson Park. Any idea how I can contact her or find her beautiful print??


Leave a Reply

Categories

